Barret School of Banking

Barret School of Banking • (901) 321-4000 •


Barret School of Banking Announces 2021-2022 Executive Committee

TN Banker Brian Walhood elected Chairman


Memphis, TN (November 10, 2021) – The Paul W. Barret, Jr. School of Banking today announced the election of it’s 2021-2022 Executive Committee during its fall Board meeting.

Brian Walhood, President/Community Banking of BancorpSouth in Memphis, TN will serve as Chairman.


Joining Walhood on the Executive Committee are:

Jim Gowen, Jr. (Chair – Elect) – CEO/M & P Bank/Newport, AR

Steve Handke (Immediate Past Chair) – President/1st Option Bank Bank/Horton, KS

Jeff Gerrish (Secretary) (Legal Concerns) – Attorney/Gerrish Smith Tuck/Memphis, TN

Jennifer Nunley (Chair, Banking Assoc. Committee) – President/Security Bank/Dyersburg, TN

Mike Hobbs (Chair, Curriculum/Faculty Comm.) – President/FM Bank/Dexter, MO

Shane Clayton (Chair, Finance Comm.) – CEO/1st Choice Bank/Pontotoc, MS

Jim Reber (Chair, Lecture Series Comm.) – CEO/ICBA Securities/Memphis, TN

Jeanie Rittenberry (Chair, Special Programs Comm.) – SVP/Mktg/First Bank/Nashville, TN

Ray Skinner (At-Large) – CEO/TC Bank/Rolla, MO

Boris Dover (At-Large) – President/1st Community Bank/Batesville, AR

Robert Herrera (At-Large) – President/1st Western Bank/Booneville, AR


Additional members of the Board of Regents include:

· Adrian Breen – CEO/Bank of MO/Perryville, MO

· Larry Coggin – President/Commercial Banking/Renasant Bank/Tupelo, MS

· Tim Compton – CEO/Traditions Bank/Cullman, AL

· Katya Farmer – 2018 Class Rep./Product Develop. Manager/Arvest Bank/Lowell, AR

· Dave Finnerty – 2021 Class Rep./EVP/COO/Guilford Savings Bank/Guilford, CT

· Lisa Foley – EVP/Pinnacle Financial Partners/Memphis, TN

· Eric Hallman – CEO/NE Ind. Community Bankers/Lincoln, NE

· Barry Haugen – President/ICB of ND/Bismark, ND

· David Hayes – CEO/Security Bank/Dyersburg, TN

· Gene Henson – President, N. Region/Trustmark Bank/Memphis, TN

· Danny Kelly – CEO/Hometown Bank/Oneonta, AL

· Lindsay LaNore – Group EVP, Community Banker Univ./ICBA/Minneapolis, MN

· Sam McClatchy – CEO/Unity Bank MS/Holly Springs, MS

· John McNair – CEO/CBA of GA/Atlanta, GA

· Shawn Mitchell – CEO/CBA of KS/Topeka, KS

· Chris Padgett – Executive Director/AR Community Bankers/Little Rock, AR

· Bob Palmer – CEO/CBA of OH/Columbus, OH

· Justin St. Pierre – CEO/Peoples Bank & Trust/Troy, MO

· Matt Ruge – Executive Director/MO Ind. Bankers Assoc./Jefferson City, MO

· Douglas Scarboro – SVP, Regional Exec./FRB of St. Louis/Memphis, TN

· Milton Smith – CEO/1st National Bank/Walnut Ridge, AR

· Jim Strickland – 2017 Class Rep./President, Greene County/BankSouth/Greensboro, GA

· Donna Tanner – Executive Director/CBA of WV/Beckley, WV

· Mike Tierney – President/CEO/CB of MI/East Lansing, MI

· John Witkowski – CEO/Ind. Bankers Assoc. of NY State/Albany, NY

· Whitney Watson – 2019 Class Rep./Sales Manager/Arvest Bank/Bartlesville, OK

· Steve Yeakel – President/VA Assoc. of Comm. Banks/Richmond, VA


About the Barret School of Banking:

Barret School of Banking is an endowed, non-profit, independent school created and governed by a Board of Regents, whose members are executives from banks and other firms involved with the financial services industry. The School provides an adult learning experience for the career-oriented individual in commercial banking or a related financial services industry business.




Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
written by
Barret School of Banking

Barret School of Banking

Scroll to Top